Recent Blog Posts

March 19, 2022

What is Certified Cloud Security Professional? Why is it important to undergo CCSP Certification?

You must have heard the term - Cloud Number 9. But did you know that there is an actual path that will take you there? 

Yes, it is a career path of becoming a CCSP - Certified Cloud Security Professional. You will understand why we called it that but before that let us understand what is CCSP and its requirements.

What is CCSP?

CCSP – Certified Cloud Security Professional, it is a certification that covers the deep knowledge and 
hands-on experience of cloud security. This involves its design, architecture, service, and operations.
The role of a CCSP would be to apply their information security expertise to cloud computing.


This particular certification requires a decent amount of experience before you can start your CCSP 

Any candidate willing to learn cloud security needs to have a minimum of 5 years of total work 
experience in information technology out of which 3 years must be in information security and one 
year of cloud security. The one year of cloud security experience can be in any of 6 domains of the
CCSP CBK. Also, this one year of experience can be waived if you have the CSA’s CCSK certificate.

The most important waiver here is earning the (ISC)2’s CISSP credential, which can be used as a 
substitute for the entire 5-year experience.

You need not worry if you do not have any of the above-mentioned requirements. There is another 
path that will lead you to become a CCSP – It is to become an Associate of (ISC)2 by successfully passing the CCSP exam. Further, you will be granted a period of 6 years to attain the 5 years of work experience required as stated.

Are you the right fit?

It doesn’t make sense for everyone to take the CCSP certification. It is for the professionals who are 
invested in applying the best security principles to cloud architecture, design, services, and operations.

Considering this, you may be one of the below-mentioned professionals:

CCSP Certification
  • Cloud Architect.
  • Cloud Engineer.
  • Cloud Consultant.
  • Cloud Administrator.
  • Cloud Security Analyst.
  • Cloud Specialist.
  • Auditor of Cloud Computing Services.
  • Professional Cloud Developer.

The benefits of CCSP

Now that you are reading this, it is safe to assume that you meet the above-mentioned requirements.
This is the part where we mentioned the cloud 9 experience at the start. There will definitely be a 
career advancement after you get certified along with these benefits.

Benefits of CCSP

  • Edge over the competition.
  • More professional approach.
  • Proficient cloud computing skills.
  • Hands-on experience.
  • Freedom to work as a freelancer (if interested).
  • Exceptional salary hikes. 

CCSP Salaries

To elaborate on the last and the most important point, the salary estimate of a CCSP professional 
averages to a CTC of Rs. 23 lakhs. The range of the salaries being spread over a region of Rs. 15 lakhs
to Rs. 40 lakhs.

Now that certainly is the equivalent of being on cloud 9.

Also, it is almost poetic to be on cloud 9 by working on a cloud.

What does the CCSP Exam Cover?

Here comes the actual part that you will be spending all your time on – the syllabus.

The CCSP syllabus is divided into 6 domains:

6 Domains of CCSP
  • Cloud Concepts, Architecture and Design.
  • Cloud Data Security.
  • Cloud Platform and Infrastructure Security.
  • Cloud Application Security.
  • Cloud Security Operations.
  • Legal, Risk, and Compliance.
There is weightage for each domain and it is as follows
  • Domain 1: Cloud Concepts, Architecture, and Design – 17%
  • Domain 2: Cloud Data Security – 19%
  • Domain 3: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure Security – 17%
  • Domain 4: Cloud Application Security – 17%
  • Domain 5: Cloud Security Operations – 7%
  • Domain 6: Legal, Risk, and Compliance – 13%
There is a lot of content available that can help you study and pass this examination. But if you want 
to ace the examination we have intricately prepared courses, video lectures, and loads of hands-on 
experience material. This will not only help you ace the test but will make you an expert CCSP 

The Exam Details

The CCSP exam is 3 hours long having 125 multiple-choice questions. To pass the exam a minimum of 
700 of 1000 points are essential. 

You can either take the exam in English or Japanese language at a Pearson VUE Testing Center.

Also, the fee for this exam will cost you USD 599/-

Tips for Success

Now with all the basic information about the CCSP exam in the palm of your hand, we will leave you 
with a few tips that will help you pass this examination successfully:
  • Understand the distribution of weightage for each domain: Different domains have different weightage. Knowing this will help you plan and allot the time required to study every domain.
  • Know your strengths and weaknesses: This is to work on your weak areas and put them into the strength section.
  • Manage exam time: There are 2 minutes for each question, do not linger on only one question for long.
  • Take practice test: Only because practice makes perfect.
However, the most important tip is to study to work and be an expert professional, not just pass the 

All the best for your attempt!!

No comments